June 28, 2010

As the Old Adage Goes…

Posted in Emo Day, Whiskey Night at 12:00 AM by TKWatson

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.  If that doesn’t cut it, add some vodka.  Or whiskey.

Heh.

I’ve always liked to think that I’m a pretty tough cookie.  In the last few years, life has really thrown me some curve balls.  My world has seen one major life change after another, some good, some bad, but none that came without copious amounts of stress.  I’ve always seemed to come out the other side stronger, braver, maybe a little smarter, and surely stickin’ my tongue out and telling life that it ain’t gonna beat me yet. But sometimes it seems like it gets harder and harder not to just give up and let life win.  Sometimes I get tired of fighting.  Sometimes I feel like I just might go bat-shit crazy, let them lock me up in a padded room, and call it good.

I look ahead at the next few years of my life and all I can see is more change.  I’m thrilled about the good parts, but know that the choices I’ve made for my future, don’t come without a cost.  When I start to wonder if I’ll be strong enough to make it through the rough parts, I begin to question if I’m really as tough a cookie as I imagine myself to be.

There are a few things that keep me going when I start to feel my sanity slipping away.  The first is my Lord, my King, my Savior;  He promises to always provide me with strength and to never give me more than I can handle with Him by my side.  The second is the hope that I have for my marriage and the joy I find in my love for G; his arms and his smile are more than enough fuel to keep me truckin’.  Finally, is the unending support I am provided by my family; I know I can always count on them to help see me through.

Remembering these things is sorta like making lemonade.  It might not be exactly taking the bad and turning it to good, but it is finding the good in the mist of the bad.  I think that as long as I can do that, I can make it through, no matter how grim things may seem.

I might drink a few Tennessee Iced Teas along the way to smooth out the ride…

3 Comments »

  1. G said,

    So what part of that drink is “Tea”?

    • tkwatson10 said,

      Uhhh…. couldn’t tell ya. I don’t really care about the hypocrisy of the name when the drink tastes so good.

  2. tabbi said,

    Tennessee iced teas!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

